Posted inTransportation

Metro General Manager Wiedefeld to retire

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) General Manager Paul Wiedefeld suddenly announced his retirement in June while the agency continues its efforts to return its sidelined 7000-series trains to service. He served as executive director of BWI Thurgood Marshall Airport from 2002 to 2005, then again from 2009 until he was dismissed by Gov. Larry Hogan in […]

Posted inHoward County

Hunt to retire as head of LHC

Stacie Hunt will retire as president and CEO of Leadership Howard County (LHC) on June 30 after 20 years in the position. Under Hunt’s guidance, LHC redesigned the organization’s leadership development programs, including the flagship Leadership Premier program and introduced Leadership Essentials, a program for emerging leaders. In addition, LHC expanded opportunities for high school […]

Posted inUncategorized

Hogan announces key department appointments

Gov. Larry Hogan has hired former Maryland Secretary of Commerce Mike Gill has been named secretary of the Maryland Department of Commerce, succeeding Secretary Kelly Schulz; has named Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Executive Director James Ports, Jr., secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT), succeeding Secretary Greg Slater; and named William Pines, MDTA’s chief engineer, succeed Ports […]

Posted inAnne Arundel County

Leadership change in Arundel Transportation Office

Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman announced a change in leadership with the County’s Office of Transportation, where Samuel Snead will replace outgoing director Ramond Robinson. Snead’s appointment took effect on Monday, Dec. 27. “Samuel Snead brings significant transportation planning and regulatory experience to this role,” Pittman said. “I am confident he will continue the […]

Posted inBusiness News

The Business Monthly sold to Whong Community Media

The Business Monthly, the essential business publication for Howard and Anne Arundel counties, has changed hands. Jason Whong, an experienced publisher, media executive and native Marylander, has purchased the venerable publication and its digital outlets from current owner Daniel Medinger. The transaction was effective Nov. 18, 2021. “When Dan approached me about this opportunity, I […]