The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame has released the names of seven visionaries who will be inducted into its ranks at a gala and inductee ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 20, at the Hilton Baltimore Inner Harbor.

The Hall is composed of individuals who collectively invented the technologies, created awareness, promoted and delivered education, developed and influenced policy and created businesses to begin addressing the cybersecurity problem.

“These innovators truly deserve a place in the Cyber Security Hall of Fame. We are proud to recognize their distinguished contributions and honor the influence they have had on the industry at large,” said Mike Jacobs, the first information assurance director for the National Security Agency and a cybersecurity consultant to government and industry.

The board of advisers selected the following individuals for induction.

  • Dan Geer, chief information security officer, In-Q-Tel
  • Lance Hoffman, research professor of computer science, The George Washington University
  • Horst Feistel, cryptographer and inventor, United States Data Encryption Standard
  • Paul Karger, high assurance architect, writer and inventor
  • Butler Lampson, adjunct professor at MIT, and Turing Award and Draper Prize winner
  • Leonard LaPadula, co-author of the Bell-LaPadula Model of Computer Security
  • William Hugh Murray, pioneer, author and founder of the Colloquium for Information System Security Education

Since its inception in 2012, the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame has inducted more than 25 members. Nominations are made by companies and organizations engaged in cybersecurity, and are ranked and reviewed by the board using established criteria in five categories: Technology, Policy, Public Awareness, Education and Business.

Tickets for the gala are $250 and available via