The Central Maryland Chamber will host its Awards Gala on April 15, 2024, at Live! Casino & Hotel in Hanover beginning at 6 p.m.

The event salutes the accomplishments of the Central Maryland Region’s most dedicated civil servants and chamber members/volunteers. The event will also celebrate the Chamber’s 2024 Hall of Fame Inductees, which include:

Start-Up of the Year

Woman-Owned Business of the Year

BIPOC Business of the Year*

Small Business of the Year

Large Business of the Year

Volunteer of the Year

  • Lori Ratzburg

Government Advocate of the Year

*Black, Indigenous, and People of Color


Public Safety Winners              

  • Police Officer of the Year: Sgt. Anthony Miskovish, Laurel Police Department
  • Police Officer of the Year: Corporal Derek DeLoatch, Anne Arundel County Police Department
  • Sheriff’s Deputy of the Year: Corporal Nelson Broderick, Office of the Sheriff, Anne Arundel County
  • Firefighter of the Year: Vincent Nicolas, Anne Arundel County Fire Department
  • Volunteer Firefighter of the Year: Jonathan Hartley, Odenton Volunteer Fire Company, Inc.
  • Military Service Member of the Year: Staff Sgt. Victoria Boyton, Defense Media Activity

Elementary Educator of the Year Nominees                 

  • Shannon Smythe, Waugh Chapel Elementary 
  • Kayla Clements, Pershing Hill Elementary 
  • Scott Armstrong, Pershing Hill Elementary 
  • Angelique Jones, Crofton Woods Elementary 
  • Erica Cosgrove, South Shore Elementary 
  • Mary Ann Perret, Crofton Meadows Elementary 
  • Tiffin Smith, Piney Orchard Elementary

Middle School Educator of the Year Nominees        

  • Bryan Sto Thomas, Meade Middle 
  • Ida Heck, Arundel Middle 
  • Kevin Embury, Old Mill Middle South

High School Educator of the Year Nominees

  • Don Kerr, Center for Applied Technology North
  • Alysha Cardoso, Old Mill High
  • Tracey Chalk, Ruth Parker Eason 
  • Nick Noone, Meade High 

Facilities Support Staff of the Year Nominees

  • Louis Queen, Four Seasons Elementary
  • Morris Snowden, Center for Applied Technology North
  • JudyLee McLean, Van Bokkelen Elementary School

Administrative Support Staff of the Year Nominees

  • Vivianette Colon, Meade Middle 
  • Cierra Brockington, Rippling Woods Elementary 
  • LaDonna Martin, Old Mill Middle South
  • Linda Best-Hazan, West Meade Early Education Center
  • Violet Lewis, Ruth Parker Eason 
  • Muriel Fisher, Crofton Meadows Elementary 
  • Lonnie Pierce, Meade High 
  • Dawn Maxwell, Piney Orchard Elementary 

Administrator of the Year Nominees

  • Lindsay Drager, AACPS Virtual Academy
  • Aleah Queen, Rippling Woods Elementary
  • Katlyn Falls, Old Mill High 
  • Maureen Clary, Arundel Middle 
  • April Murphy, Monarch Global Academy

Business Partner of the Year Nominees

  • Corporal Keith Smith, School Resource Officer at Meade Middle School
  • Sergeant John Sims, Crofton Police Officer at Crofton Elementary School
  • Jocelyn Turner, PTO President of West Meade Early Education Center PTO

“We are excited to celebrate and honor some of the incredible individuals and businesses who serve our community,” said Kim Wirt, director of operations for the Central Maryland Chamber. “Our region’s high quality of life is due in large part to the people we will be recognizing who make our region one of the best places to live, work, and do business.”

For more information about the event or to register, visit